This week in conservative couponing…..

March 14, 2012

Ok, so as you may have realized, one of the key aspects in my great house plan 2012 is to cut back on my grocery budget. WHAT? you say? You’re already a crazy coupon lady! How are you going to save MORE? This sounds worrisome.What I realized though, is that while I AM saving a TON of money off of shelf price (and even sale price many times), I still was buying too much stuff and spending money on things I wouldn’t use or was going to give away. (Even if it did seem like little amounts here and there) Little amounts add up, especialy when you shop multiple stores every week. And since it does seem like so little, it is easy to lose track of. And then you realize that as a single person who does NOT eat out a ton or buy fancy expensive food….you’ve still managed to spend over $300 per month on food in the last year. Which is just…..not necessary.

So I am officially cutting back. I was already cutting back a bit at the drugstores especially because I know that I am fully stocked on household/toiletries for like 6-18 months. I have for the most part been managing to only buy free or moneymaker items there. Now I am cutting back on food spending too. This doesn’t mean that I am going to change the way I eat or start subsisting on ramen and peanut butter and rice. It just means I will eat from my freezer and stockpile, buy produce mindfully, and coupon carefully and consciously. Last week was an excellent start….mostly because it was a quiet week at the stores so I didn’t buy much. This week was busier, but look how well I did!

I shopped at 3 stores: Albertson’s, Safeway, and Fred Meyer.

Albertson’s
It was a doublers week but with my new guidelines….it was so slow! I had barely enough items on my original list to use all the doublers I get with my newspaper subscription (18) and one item was out of stock, one was an incorrect coupon, and another I couldn’t find at all. In the end, I only used 8 doublers and gave the rest away at the store for others to use.

All for $0.30!

(4) Single paper towel rolls
(2) Mission artisan tortillas
(2) 4-pack Activia yogurt
Total: $0.30! (tax on paper towels)

Safeway
Time to use up my rainchecks that had coupons that expire on 3/31!  I had a raincheck for POM juice and one for (6) Fresh Express salad kits. I LOVED these kits 2-3 weeks ago when I first got them. I spent a couple weeks eating my first 6 bags, then took a week off and cleared out some other food from the fridge. Now ready for more! Luckily another great sale came along to take advantage of also….

$3.26 before cereal rebate!

(4) Corn Flakes @ $1.99 w/ in-ad coupon
(1) Kiwi – $0.33ea
used $4/4 Kellogg’s cereal printable
used $1 off fruit wyb 3 Kellogg’s cereals (found in a box of the Raisin bran from a couple weeks ago)
= $3.26
PLUS!! I got a catalina coupon for a free milk up to $4 for buying 4 Kellogg’s items! Sometimes these coupons will scan for a flat $4 rather than have the cashier enter in the actual amount of the milk….so it could be a moneymaker item.
(4) POM juice – free w/ raincheck (actually a $0.03 moneymaker)
(6) Fresh Express salad kits – free with raincheck
Total: $3.26 paid

Fred Meyer
I was quite torn between Fred Meyer and Safeway this week in regards to using my (2) $4/4 Kellogg’s coupons. Such great deals either way. I decided to split and do one at each to get a little of each store’s promos. Fred Meyer was doing a Save $5 instantly wyb 10 items promo which can be a pain to get the right number of qualifying items to coupons to end up with a great deal. An amazing deal came my way though this week!

Fred Meyer: $8.35 (4.35 after MIR)

(4) Rice Krispies @ 1.99
(3) Fuji apples = $1
(5) Kraft Fresh takes cheese + breadcrumbs mixes @ 1.79
(1) Country Crock margarine @ 0.99
used $4/4 Kellogg’s cereal printable
used $1 off fruit wyb 3 Kellogg’s cereals (found in a box of the Raisin bran from a couple weeks ago)
used (5) $1/1 Kraft Fresh Takes from insert
used $1/1 Country crock printable
Total: $7.90, received a $4 catalina from Kraft cheese!

Then I bought:
5lb bag of whole carrots @ 2.69 ea
1 large bunch celery @ $0.91 ea
1 pear @0.85 ea
used $4 catalina from 1st transaction
Total: $0.45
Store total: $8.35

_____________________________________________________________________

My grand total for the week?

$11.91!

But wait, it gets better! I will submit the (8) cereal UPCs for the Kellogg’s $10 wyb 10 rebate. So essentially, that is another $8 off. So it equals $3.91 for all of that!! I mean seriously, it doesn’t get much better than that. Look at what I bought:

Fresh veggies (carrots, celery, salads)
Fresh fruit (apples, kiwi, pear)
Cheese
Tortillas
Cereal x 8 boxes
Margarine
Juice
Yogurt
Milk
Paper towels

And something nice for my savings budget? I used a $10 visa card from a previously submitted Kellogg’s rebate to pay for my purchases this week. So all I paid out of pocket (and all that I will apply towards my March grocery budget?):

$1.91

That’s right.

~Lissa

Leave a Reply

