Winter Rewards at Rite Aid: My Journey (final tally!)

March 3, 2012

As you may have read last week, Rite Aid was doing another incredible UPR promo for the month of February. Dozens of products were included and when you spent $100, you’d get a $20 UPR. I looked through the deals with an eye towards getting this UPR. But I didn’t want to break my previous rule about only buying items that are entirely free, a moneymaker, or something I will actually use and need that is still not much OOP.

Well this last week concluded the promotion and here’s the final rundown!  Prices are after tax, and after all UPR & SCR earned.

Week 1:
(2) Stayfree – 0.43MM
(1) Abreva – 8.76
OOP: 8.83 (I didn’t have any previous ups to apply)
Leftover: (2) $2 UPR, (1) $2 SCR
Total to winter reward: $20

Week 2:
(4) Thermacare + (1) Optic White – $13.33 MM (after Pfizer rebate)
(4) Snickers eggs – $1MM
(2) Haribo gummy raspberries – $1.16
(1) Pot-of-gold – $0.99 (The winter reward says Valentine’s candy are excluded but judging by my total, this must have been included in the winter reward!)
OOP: $15.97 (used $4 UPR from week one)
Leftover: (2) $4 UPR, (1) 1.75 UPR, (1) $10 UPR, (1) $2 UPR, submit $10 UPR for Pfizer
Total to winter reward: $54

Week 3:
(4) Colgate toothpaste + (5) Colgate toothbrushes – $4.04 MM
OOP: $12.21 (used $2, $10, and $1.75 UPR from week two. I need to call customer service about getting my 2 $4 UPR from the thermacare)
Leftover: (4) $3.50 UPR, (4) $1.50 UPR, (1) $10 UPR.
Total to winter reward: $93

Initially the $3.50 UPR x 4 from the toothpaste didn’t print on my receipt, so had them returned and bought them over again. Weirdly, it  counted them twice for the winter rewards total. I figured when you returned something with your card, it would subtract it from the running total, but not so far. It might do so the next time I’m at the store though, sometimes it takes a bit to process. I’m not going to work too hard to correct it, as I have had issues every single week with UPR not printing. I have to call customer service about 3 different weeks of shopping to have UPR credited to me that are missing ($36 in total – eek!).

Week 4:
(1) Blink tears – $0.24 MM
OOP: $0.57 (I bought some Valentine’s clearance stuff and used the $10 UPR from week 3)
Leftover: (1) $7.50 SCR, received $20 Winter Resolutions UPR

Total OOP expense for promotion: $37.58
Total actual cost after UPR/rebates: $28.13 MONEYMAKER!!!

That’s right folks, in the end everything I bought that was in this promotion was a moneymaker except for a little bit of candy (deeply discounted) and Abreva (at about 50% off shelf price). And I MADE $28 dollars doing it! What will I buy with $28?? I honestly don’t know, probably some cheap Easter candy! Maybe a nice picture frame for my VECCS certificate/diploma. We’ll see 😀

Leave a Reply

