What a week!

April 20, 2011

I know I haven’t put up a coupon post in awhile. But take heart! I HAVE been couponing! Obnoxiously. Constantly. Obsessive-compulsively. But with all the time I am putting IN to couponing, it’s just been too much effort to post about it. I am happy to get the deals, but I don’t feel the need to document them with photos and brags on here. And let’s face it, the rest of my life has been very busy and not going to get any better for the next 4 months or so!

Quick run-down:
~I found a home for Tristan. Phew! I am soo much happier now, and I really think (and hope) that he is too! My life is much calmer with just Emmy and the cats. It’s a huge stress relief.
~I am putting together a study group to study for my VECCS exam which is one the 2nd week of September. This is going to be HUGELY helpful but obviously a lot of work (and studying, haha)
~Ashley & Dave are moving to California in a week. I have just next Sun-Wed to spend time with them. This is a huge bummer.
~Because of the above, I have to take Ashley off of Pets At Home. I meet with a business lawyer on Monday to draw up the paperwork to have her sign over her interest in the business. Then I get to file change of ownership paperwork…..
~I have a lot of work to do with the business to get things all rearranged and finalized and settled so that in September (after my VECCS exam) I can start really doing promotion.

Ok, back to couponing. Just had a breakthrough!! I’ve been combing the recycle bin at the apartment complex for newspaper inserts to varying success and annoyance. Finally a couple months ago I started buying 5 copies of the paper from the Dollar Tree (cost $1 each) which netted my the P&G and SS inserts. But that paper didn’t carry the RP inserts. I would get one with my grocery flyers and was still halfheartedly checking the recycle bin. But I was definitely losing out on a bunch of deals. However, I just discovered that the Everett Herald has all 3 inserts in it so I called them about subscriptions. They have a special couponers deal of one 7-day subscription with 5 Sunday papers for just $99/6mo. Which ends up being $16.50/mo!! Considering that I was spending $20/mo for the other paper and missing out on the RP, this is a HUGE deal! And delivered right to my house, no muss no fuss. Love it!

Blabbity blabbity. Anyways! Down to the meat of it. No pics as really its just too much a pain in the ass to arrange that and whatnot. Instead here’s my shopping list for the week, I REALLY scored!

Rite Aid
(4) Nivea body wash – 3.99ea
(2) Splenda w/ fiber 80ct. – $2.65ea
(2) Glade scented oil candle refills – $2.50ea
(2) Glade scented candles – $2.50ea
(1) Febreze noticeables warmer – $2.49
(2) Lysol disinfecting wipes – $2.50ea
(1) Windex multi-surface cleaner – $2.50
(1) Windex glass cleaner – $2.50
(1) Pledge multisurface furniture cleaner – $2.99
(1) Spot Shot carpet cleaner – $2.50
(2) Arm & hammer baking soda – $0.59ea
Grand total paid (after UPR): $1.52
$2.50 MIR pending for Febreze so will total: 0.98 moneymaker!!
(how awesome is that!! best part is, this is ALL stuff I will use and that I am not fully stocked on!)

Walgreen’s
ok, this was a bit more annoying as they were out of some of the stuff. But here’s what the run-down is so far. I’m going to try going to a different store and doing my original plan all over again as I have enough coupons to do so!

(3) Scotch tape – 1.99ea
(3) Jell-O – $.50ea
(2) dozen eggs – 1.29ea
Total paid: $3.17 + got 2 free redbox codes! so really like it was $0.97!
(My original plan calls for 3 separate transactions:
#1 (3) Splenda w/ Fiber (0.97OOP)
#2 (4) Taster’s Choice + (2) Starburst Jelly Beans (free)
#3 (3) Scotch tape, (2) dozen eggs, (3) jello, $1 in filler (0.19)
for a total OOP of: $1.16! + 2 redbox codes! )

Safeway
(3) baby carrots – $1ea
(4) mangos – $0.50ea
(3) bags baby spinach – $0.50ea
(1.5lb) broccoli crowns – $1/lb
Total: $8

Top Foods
(2) bags iceberg lettuce – 0.17ea
(1) 5lb bag russet potatoes – 0.69ea
(2.5lb) Fuji apples – 0.59/lb
Total: $2.50

Albertson’s
had doublers going on…and what a week…..

(6) Jell-O Temptations, 3pk – $1.99ea
(4) Stove Top Stuffing – 0.99ea
(1) McCormick GrillMates Spices – $1
(1) Bisquick baking mix – $1.50
(4) American Beauty Pasta – $1ea
(8) Healthy Choice Soup – $1.34ea
(4) Classico Pasta Sauce – $2ea
(1) Gallon Milk – free catalina
Grand total paid: $3.18

So for ALL of the above items, a very good week’s haul, I paid a total of:
$15.87

How do you like that?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

