How couponing has helped my life

January 17, 2011

Ok, I know! This blog is turning into an ode to coupons. Roll your eyes if you want. Someday I’m sure I’ll have something more “important” to discuss.

Like the fact that I am finding a home for one of my dogs. The short story is that as a true and real Husky, he has not adapted to living in an apartment and I was never really the right kind of owner for him in the first place. He is starting “sleepaway camp” next week and will stay at “camp” during my workweek until he gets adopted. Which for his sake, will hopefully be soon. As a result, I will be working an extra 2 shifts/month to pay for camp. *sigh*

Guess it’s a good thing that I am saving money with couponing! Hah, how’s that for a sedgeway? I just had an AWESOME shop at Rite Aid and at Albertson’s that I want to share with you (I know I know you’ve heard that before). At Rite Aid I think I ended up actually making a few dollars and at Albertson’s I spent only a few dollars and got TONS of free items. It was almost as exciting as the before Xmas doublers extravaganza. I always think I have gotten used to the coupon deals and then another amazing and different deal comes along.  Starting this year, I have resolved to be back on South Beach diet so I am focusing my couponing and shopping on those healthy foods unless it is basically free items to donate.

So here is my official list of How Couponing Has Changed My Life:

  •  I never have to worry about food, I have everything I want at any time because I stockpile
  • If I have any loss of income, I don’t have to worry about food or toiletries for 3-6+months
  • I am able to donate food to my co-workers, my friends, and local shelters/food banks
  • I am saving HUGE amounts of money!
  • I am interacting with a huge community of positive people
  • I really and truly ENJOY the coupon game! 🙂 It is the best combination of saving money while getting to do lots of shopping in a treasure hunt-type format.
  • I love amazing people with the stories of exciting shops

I currently have a stockpile of 3-6months of nonperishable foods and 6-12 months of toiletry items. This stockpile in the event of a total income loss would allow my current general emergency fund to extend from 2months to 3-4months. I regularly bring bags of food into work for a few coworkers to go through, bring food into work to put in the cupboards for everyone, have my friend over to the “store of melissa”, and then whatever is left I take to the food back/church toiletry drives. 10 boxes of fruit snacks at $0.09 each have made my coworkers VERY happy! I haven’t officially calculated my grocery savings, but I know it is only 1/3 to 1/2 of what I was spending, if that!

I have a tendency to jump into things and not sustain my interest. But couponing is so self-affirming and has such instant gratification that I do not see my interest waning anytime soon! And since I enjoy the whole process, I think I’ll just keep on going with this great new hobby. I hope you start too! You might be surprised at how little effort can be involved to make such a difference.

See these sites for great info and help:
www.forthemommas.com
www.thekrazycouponlady.com

Happy Couponing!
~Lissa

One Response to “How couponing has helped my life”

  1. Nichole Says:

    Hi Lisa, My name is Nichole and I live in Seattle. I found your site through Krazy Coupon Lady. I’m looking for a couponing buddy. I would love it if you’d email me. We can help eachother find coupons deals etc. I haven’t met anyone in Seattle who doesn’t think they’re too good for coupons (what’s up with that?) Hopefully talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

