My Christmas letter

December 16, 2010

Just a quick post here, a total cop-out. I put together my Christmas cards tonight and here is the letter that I put in them, a (very) quick summary of my year:

Merry Christmas!

This year has been busy here in Seattle! In March I started a new job at a renowned emergency and referral veterinary hospital. I have worked relief shifts at this clinic over the last couple of years, and in March they called me up and essentially offered me my dream position. I can’t believe I have been there for 10 months already, the time has gone soo fast!

Finally I got tired of commuting over an hour each way, and with the onset of this new job, I decided to move up to Seattle. I found a wonderful apartment just a few blocks off the beach in a neighborhood on the north side of Seattle. The dogs are happy as there is an off-leash dog park on the beach and a big park with trails just next door. I am happy because there is a dishwasher and laundry faucilities! My house in Yelm is rented out to a couple that I knew from work and they have been doing tons of landscaping work to the property. I feel really lucky to have found such great tenants!

I have been working hard over the last few months to get my application finished to get my emergency and critical care nursing specialization. This is a prestigious title/acknowledgement in the veterinary field and I have wanted it for a long time! Hopefully I will hear good news in the spring that I have been accepted to take the boards for the exam.

Just to make my life a litttle more hectic, I decided to start my own business with my best friend. It is called Pets At Home and is an in-home pet nursing service. Basically, just like people can have home nurses, now pets will be able to also. As I have been very busy this fall with my emergency application packet, we have not done really any promotion and therefore business is slow. I have had a couple of clients which has been an absolute success and have received some incredible feedback. In January I am going to start serious promotion and expect that this may snowball quite quickly once we get going! The idea is to eventually have other employees contracted to take the nursing jobs themselves, and I will be mainly doing coordination and scheduling. I love my “real” job and don’t want to give that up, but I think that Pets At Home is a very needed and desired service in this area and might just end up being a huge business if handled right!

All the pets are doing well. Ember & Tristan the Huskies, and FooFoo the black cat, Fancy the Siamese cat, and Raymond the snuffly gray tuxedo cat are all happy and causing their typical havoc on my house and sanity.

Here’s wishing you all a happy and healthy holidays and a successful 2011!

~Love,
Lissa

Leave a Reply

