Life really is good

October 20, 2009

So its 3am, I’m just sitting on my couch, hanging with the cats and dogs, reading the newest JD Robb book and snacking on food. Gonna have myself a glass of wine and eat some cheese & crackers. In a few hours I’ll make some baked fish, wild rice, and steamed veggies for “dinner” before I take a shower and go into my working interview for that job I was telling you about last time. And even though I don’t have a firm offer there and have turned down the offer at the new ER and don’t really know what I’ll be doing or where in November, it just struck me that my life really is good. I have lousy things happen, and opportunities not work out, and bad days, but my life is really quite nice. And I love it when those times come around that I remember that. And feel it. Even when things aren’t perfect and I don’t have everything I could wish for or am planning for, I still have those days or hours or moments where I just kinda step outside of myself and realize that I am happy.

It’s a nice feeling.

So to update on the work stuff, I did end up with an interview at the overnight-alone job on Thursday. It went well and I got a sense of the place and I think I would really like it. They said they were still interviewing people that week and would get back to me about setting up a working interview. Though she did acknowledge that a working interview would be just a formality in my case. Which I took to mean that if they gave me a working interview that they have basically decided to offer me the job. I figured I’d hear Friday possibly or maybe not til Monday.  And then before I went to work that night I checked my email and there was one from them to set up a working interview this week. YAY! So I’m feeling pretty confident about the job. My interview is On Tues, in about 7 hours. 🙂 Hopefully they’ll let me know today if they are going to offer me the job, or in the next couple days. I am about 95% sure they will give me an offer and I’m 100% sure that I will accept it unless they change any of the minimum terms that were outlined in their ad. So hopefully I’ll be reporting the details of my new job soon!

As for the other position, I did write them a counteroffer. And they countered with a higher pay rate, but not quite what I asked for. And given what is happening with this job, I turned it down. I hated to turn it down before I knew for sure about this job, but I just wasn’t quite excited enough about the offer. I think that a 4-day week is just going to be too difficult for me with the lifestyle changes I have to make. They did offer me relief work so that’s nice.

Ok, otherwise not too much different. Oh! The rescue group that is helping to place my foster dog is sending applications to me so that I can do meet & greets and hopefully find him a home. He should be good to go by the end of the month I’m estimating. So he will have a good chance of having a home waiting for him as soon as he is ready. Which is awesome since starting in November I want to be ready to really start staying in my new place.

Alright, I’ll let you know about the job as soon as I do. But in the meantime, it’s nice to remember and to feel that life really is good around here!

~Lissa

Leave a Reply

